Economic Development Authority

The Economic Development Authority (EDA) is a public corporation empowered to undertake certain types of economic development projects. The EDA is the economic development arm of the City Council and handles all types of city economic development projects. Projects may include such activities as acquiring, developing, improving, and disposing of property, entering into contracts, and operating and maintaining public affairs.

The EDA meetings are the third Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. The EDA is comprised of four council members and three citizens. The length of term for the council members coincides with the term of office for council. The length of term for citizen members is six years.

EDA Commissioners June 2023

EDA Members

612.369.3055 • Term Expires: 12/31/26

612.363.3587 • Term Expires: 12/31/29

612.889.6794 • Term Expires: 12/31/24

763.670.2901 • Term Expires: 12/31/24

763.241.3949 • Term Expires: 12/31/24

612.741.1619 • Term Expires: 12/31/26

763.238.7495 • Term Expires: 12/31/28

Click Here to View the Most Current Agendas and Minutes

Joint Finance Committee

The Joint Finance Committee provides the EDA with a technical and politically neutral analysis of applications including microloan, tax abatement, and tax increment financing applications. They meet on the last Tuesday of the month. Other committees identified in the Bylaws include Marketing, Prospecting, and Research and Development are not established subcommittees.

The Finance Committee consists of nine (9) members: two (2) EDA members and at large members representing various constituencies, including banking, real estate, law, and the general community. Current members are:

  • EDA: Dan Tveite
  • EDA: Charlie Blesener
  • HRA: Lynn Caswell
  • HRA: Nate Ovall
  • Banking: Chad Vitzthum
  • Legal: Rhonda J. Magnussen
  • Real Estate: Ryan Hardin
  • At Large: Jim Gromberg
  • At Large: Vacancy

Beautification and Public Art Committee

The Beautification and Public Art Committee serves to recognize business owners who have made an effort to clean, repair, improve, and enhance the overall aesthetics of their property to maintain the beauty of their neighborhood. This committee encourages community improvements while enhancing our city’s visual image and economic vitality. In addition, this committee is tasked with supporting and securing additional public art in the community. They meet on the third Monday of each month. 

The Beautification and Public Art Committee consists of six members, four members at large, one member representing the Sherburne County Master Gardeners Club, and one member representing the Elk River Area Chamber of Commerce

Each fall, the Beautification and Public Art Committee announces the winner of the Beautification Award. Learn more about the award here