Economic Development Authority

The Economic Development Authority (EDA) is a public corporation empowered to undertake certain types of economic development projects. The EDA is the economic development arm of the City Council and handles all types of city economic development projects. Projects may include such activities as acquiring, developing, improving, and disposing of property, entering into contracts, and operating and maintaining public affairs.

The EDA meetings are the third Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. The EDA is comprised of four council members and three citizens. The length of term for the council members coincides with the term of office for council. The length of term for citizen members is six years.

EDA Commissioners June 2023

EDA Members

612.369.3055 • Term Expires: 12/31/26

612.363.3587 • Term Expires: 12/31/23

612.889.6794 • Term Expires: 12/31/24

763.670.2901 • Term Expires: 12/31/24

763.241.3949 • Term Expires: 12/31/24

612.741.1619 • Term Expires: 12/31/26

763.238.7495 • Term Expires: 12/31/28

Click Here to View the Most Current Agendas and Minutes

Joint Finance Committee

The Joint Finance Committee provides the EDA with a technical and politically neutral analysis of applications including microloan, tax abatement, and tax increment financing applications. They meet on the last Tuesday of the month. Other committees identified in the Bylaws include Marketing, Prospecting, and Research and Development are not established subcommittees.

The Finance Committee consists of nine (9) members: two (2) EDA members and at large members representing various constituencies, including banking, real estate, law, and the general community. Current members are:

  • EDA: Dan Tveite
  • EDA: Charlie Blesener
  • HRA: Jill Larson-Vito
  • HRA: Nate Ovall
  • Banking: Chad Vitzthum
  • Legal: Rhonda J. Magnussen
  • Real Estate: Ryan Hardin
  • At Large: Jim Gromberg
  • At Large: Vacancy

Beautification Committee

The Beautification Committee serves to recognize business owners who have made an effort to clean, repair, improve, and enhance the overall aesthetics of their property to maintain the beauty of their neighborhood. This committee encourages community improvements while enhancing our city’s visual image and economic vitality. They meet on a monthly basis from April through October, generally during the morning. 

The Beautification Committee consists of five members, three members at large, one member representing the Sherburne County Master Gardeners Club, and one member representing the Elk River Area Chamber of Commerce

Each fall, the Beautification Committee anonunces the winner of the Beautification Award. Learn more about the award here